Monday Walk

Standard

Today I am inviting you to walk with me through Rochester in Kent.  A lovely historic small city.  It has a beautiful Cathedral dates back to 604 AD- the second oldest in England.   The  castle is Norman and the 12th-century keep or stone tower, which is the castle’s most prominent feature, is one of the best preserved in England.

Please enjoy the walk with me round the Cathedral and the castle.  Keep your scarf on it is very windy!

Rochester 2.5 (24)

Rochester 2.5 (9)

Rochester 2.5 (11)

  The beautifully painted organ.

Rochester 2.5 (8)

In the Cathedral was a display of 3 very old books, one is 100 years older than the Magna Carta and is called Textus Roffenses.  It contains a collection of Anlo Saxon Law of Aethelberht of Kent which dates back to 600AD – it is the only surviving copy of the oldest law in English.

Textus Roffenses

Apparently Henry the VIII took all books from the Cathedral library at his time but left this one behind.  The Lady in the Cathedral said historians still wonder why?

Rochester Castle

Rochester Castle

Rochester 2.5 (23)

Rochester 2.5 (19)

Rochester 2.5 (28)

Rochester 2.5 (30)

Rochester 2.5 (41)

After all this walking – it is time for a nice cup of tea or coffee!

Thanks for joining me and I hope you enjoyed the walk!

Related Articles

Rochester Historic and Beautiful

Textus Roffensis

 

 

 

 

35 responses »

  1. Thanks for the walk Ute. I have actually visited Rochester many years ago for the Dickens Festival. I think it’s on at the end of May. 😀 ❤

    • Thank you Sylvia for walking with me, it was so enjoyable an dyes those books are only being touched with gloves…. indeed very valuable! … and so interesting!

    • Rob … you have Meerkats…. who needs castles…. 🙂 Well I do love castles and churches, old houses… but also Meerkats. I think you finally know what I like. hehe 🙂

  2. Thank you so much Ute! Really was a pleasure to walk with you and enjoy this together through your eyes! Amazing photos! Glad I brought my scarf 😉 My favourite photo is YOU! Now I shall have tea and think of you!

    ❤ carmen

Love to hear from you......

