Weekly Smile #43

Standard

smile

Is it not wonderful to smile so much?

There is a picture on my computer (when it goes to sleep)

and it changes every second day or so.

There are amazing pictures of nature, famous sites, animals etc.

The picture this week made me smile.

I do love sloths and this one has

a sweet smile too.

smile-43

Here are some interesting fun facts about sloths:

  • Sloths have a four-part stomach that very slowly digests the tough leaves they eat, it can sometimes take up to a month for them to digest a meal. Digesting this diet means a sloth has very little energy left to move around making it one of the slowest moving animals in the world.
  • Sloths can move along the ground at just 2 m (6.5 ft) per minute! In the trees they are slightly quicker at 3 m (10 ft) per minute.
  • Sloths can extend their tongues 10 to 12 inches out of their mouths.
  • The sloth has very long, sharp, and strong claws that they use to hold on to tree branches. The claws are also their only natural defense against predators.
  • Sloths usually only leave the tree they live in to go to the toilet once a week on the ground. This is when they are most vulnerable to being attacked by their main predators such as jaguars, the harpy eagle and snakes.
  • Two-toed sloths are nocturnal, being most active at night. While three-toed sloths are diurnal which means they are most active during the day.
  • It used to be thought sloths slept for 15 to 20 hours a day. However, its now believed they only sleep around 10 hours a day.

My most favourite sloth is though

Sid the sloth from Ice Age

such a fun, smiley, positive guy

who can resist his smile…. ?

smile-43-sloth

…keep smiling!

 

link

 

43 responses »

  1. Sid is perhaps, the fastest sloth that I’ve seen so far…LOL…he’s so fast that I sometimes forget that he is a sloth…:P

    Thank you for sharing and have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!!😀

  2. Thank you for this uplifting post with it’s beautiful smile, dear Ute!
    Currently I can sleep 10 hours per day, too… I wonder if there was a sloth in my family tree, somewhere… They surely are interesting beings.
    You gotta love Sid! We just watched Ice Age III, tonight. But the scentence that comes through most in everyday life seems to be: “My feet are shweting!” … Must be a counter balance to the fact that I tend to have cold feet – especially when snow is afoot.
    Much love,
    Steffi

    • I am waiting for the new one to come out on DVD as I have the whole lot on DVD. I can watch them over and over again. You know Steffi I think I have a sloth in the family too, I love my sleep. Might be a nice animal to be in my next life.

      • I hear you, Ute!
        We are waiting for the new Ice Age, too, to complete our collection. We have not seen it, yet.
        I think, a bit of sloth for everyone would do the world good. ❤

  3. Hi Ute! I love this; your weekly Smiles really do make me smile. I’m signing off for a few months which is a shame since I find your posts uplifting. I hope to be back in the New Year so in the meantime have a Happy Healthy Christmas and New Year.

Love to hear from you......

