More amazing nature!

Standard

Iceland has many different views …here are more…. amazing waterfalls…

DSC_0026

Seljalandsfoss a 60m waterfall in a lovely location,surrounded by cliffs and green slopes.

DSC_0042

 

A footpath leads behind the waterfall… little bit wet….

DSC_0070

DSC_0075

DSC_0081

such beautiful green….

DSC_0089

This is Eyjafjallajokull, the volcano which broke out in April 2010 and had me and mum stranded in Germany for a week because of the ash in the air so the planes couldn’t fly. We now saw it dormant with snow. (1660m high) I never thought I would see this volcano.

DSC_0118

Then we went to a crashed plane wreck on the coast on black sand. It was a US Navy DC3 and it crashed 1973 because it ran out of fuel. All survived and it turned out later that the pilot switched to the wrong fuel tank.

DSC_0127

I went even inside….

DSC_0136

It feels it is in the middle of nowhere but in the back you can see the glacier.

Black sand just everywhere.

DSC_0148

Very little growth…

DSC_0160

I loved the sand and the sea, it was sunny too, see I tanned a bit!

DSC_0168

This is the Solheimajokull glacier.

It says that with the global warming it can disappear within 100 to 200 years.

DSC_0171

The last stop was the huge Skogafoss Waterfall.

DSC_0190

We got very wet, but as the sun was shining the rainbow went all the way round.

So beautiful!

We walked all the way to the top.

DSC_0204

We had a busy day and chilled out with an original Icelandic yogurt – Skyr

DSC_0238

We enjoyed the whole experience as well as the Icelandic food!

I can only recommend Iceland for its nature, wonderful people, clean air, amazing drinking water ( ph 8.8- tastes fantastic) and its food.

I hope you enjoyed my day trip as much as I did!

 

40 responses »

  1. I have always wanted to go to Iceland and this post just made me want to go even more!! Love the teddy bear in the photos! What a unique touch!

    Dear, would you please allow me to repost in on LadyRedot.com (my other travel blog)?

Love to hear from you......

