The ABC of genuine happiness – T

Standard

The ABC of Genuine Happiness

happiness1

T – Take powernaps. Talk wisely

t7Power naps

When to power nap?

Most scientific research on restorative nap indicates that the best time for a short doze is at midday. Some people take it before lunch but most will wait until right after lunch, at this time digestion compounds with time of the day. This is a point in your circadian cycle (your body natural sleep regulation rythm) where you already have a natural tendency to fall asleep. Don’t delay your nap, napping after 4 or 6pm might degrade your night sleep or reduce your sleep quality.

How long?

For most people a 20 minute power nap is optimal, some might prefer adding a 5 to 10 minute buffer to allow extra relaxation time before the actual nap. This is probably useful if you feel stress or difficulties to let go. It is up to you to fine tune your nap environment in order for you to find the perfect restorative sleep.

t8

Love the pillow!

Fantastic

Talk wisely

Be impeccable with your word.

Speak with integrity.

Say only what you mean.

Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others.

Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love.

t6tt4t3t2t5

The heart of a fool is in his mouth, but the mouth of  a wise man is in his heart.

Benjamin Franklin

☼ ♥♥♥☼

An honest answer is like a kiss on the lips.

 Proverbs 24:26

… to be continued ….

Wishing you  a thoughtful and thankful day!

 

 

 

60 responses »

  1. Beautiful and so true Ute. I had a loooong powernap yesterday afternoon. I’m still yawning. 😆
    Thanks for sharing and may you have an awesome day as well hon. ♥ Hugs ♥

  2. Hi Ute 😀 I love to have a siesta in the afternoon. When in Rome…. !! Sorry to hear that you can’t take nap at work. Very young kids do, so why not you ? Ralph xox 😀

  3. Ute, I never thought about taking a power nap earlier in the day. But now that I think about it, that is when I usually yawn the most. Must try this vs late afternoon. Thanks Miss Positve.

  4. Power snooze is what we call it over here. tee hee. I usually only doze off for 20 minutes to half an hour and it does help. I find if I sleep too long it interferes with my night sleep. Great post Ute!! Have a good nap. 🙂

  5. This is great advice I should put into practice. I normally refuse to take naps during the day so by the time I rest my head on the pillow I am out in seconds. I just refuse to do that nap thing. I promise to work on this Utesmile…. Thank you so much, have a wonderful day.

  6. A great post Ute. I have insomnia, and feel like napping about 4pm but I am usually working then. I have work in a few hours time and I need to sleep soon, it’s almost 3am.

  7. This is totally awesome. My heart is open to all you express here. I do take naps and I’m working on being mindful of always talking wisely. Love all your quotes you share here!!!

    • Being mindful is the best thing ever, you see more of life and you live more, I am reading a great book about it, like a 6 week course and I love it. It gives me more than I already have. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Sometimes We Are Tested. Not To Show Our Weaknesses, But to Discover Our Strengths ~ Unknown | A Mixed Bag

  9. Great advice Ute! I love cat naps! ❤
    I agree that words are powerful; able to build up or tear down.
    Let's be constructive, not destructive with our words!! 🙂

    ❤ carmen

  10. Power naps have saved my life many times … when I was active – I a took a 30 min power nap when I had a chance. Words can be very hurtful and painful, but also touching and nourishing. And sometimes we slip – sometimes we say the wrong words. I think the written words are much harder to read – because we don’t have the eyes and face expression to read with the words.

    • You are so right and only recently I read a message wrong and was worried and it was supposed to be a joke. I didn’t realise as I didn’t see her face or hear the tone. Shame well, we sorted it. 🙂

      • It’s so hard to understand … at times what people mean with their written words, and they can land so completely wrong, so we have to be very broadminded with we read people’s comments.
        Understand just what you mean with not seeing her face when she sent that text.

Love to hear from you......

