The cracked pot

Standard

I have been reading about mindfulness and I came across this great story.

Once upon a time there was a water bearer who took each day 2 pots of water to his teacher. Each day he would walk to the stream to fill both pots with water and carry them across his shoulders, one pot on each side on a pole. One pot was cracked and by the time he reached his teacher it was only half full. He carried on for years to bring one and half pot of water to his teacher. The perfect pot was proud of his achievement. The cracked pot was sad that he could only do half the job he was supposed to do. One day the cracked pot said “I feel so upset and ashamed and I can’t hold a full pot of water. What use am I to anyone?” The water bearer  told the pot to look at the side on the ground as he carried it. The cracked pot noticed the most beautiful flowers and plants on his side of the path. The water bearer said “When I noticed you were cracked, I decided to plant seeds on one side of the path, and every day as you leak, you water that side of the path. If you weren’t cracked, these gorgeous  flowers wouldn’t be here for all to enjoy.”

Sometimes you may think you are not perfect. This story can show that even a cracked pot can be seen as perfect just as it is. In the same way you are perfect just the way you are with all your imperfections -that’s what makes you unique.

We all have our flaws and it is good to have them as we shine through those flaws differently.

pot4pot6pot5pot1

Wishing you an awesome  Sunday!

48 responses »

  1. Absolutely perfect. I have heard that story before, and I love it.

    Have a great weekend Ute. Things will be looking up. As your story says – even if you are a bit cracked, you’re good 😉

  2. This was awesome! I am the first to admit I don’t think i have a lot to offer, and yet the story proves I am just fine the way I am. Thanks for a great post!

    • Terry don’t underestimate yourself, you DO have so much to offer, I can see it clearly, you are amazing in my eyes. You are great with all your little cracks. 🙂

  3. I’ve read about this story from a newspaper many years ago and it is indeed a very inspiring one (at least it did help me untie some knots when I was reading it)

    Thank you so much for sharing!

    Have a wonderful week ahead, my friend! Cheers~ 😀

Love to hear from you......

