Ute – Land of the Sun

Standard

The name Ute was given to me by my mum, she had a doll called Ute and loved this name.

The meaning: Ute has its origins in the Germanic language and it is used largely in German. It is derived from the word ‘uod’ which means “wealth, fortune”. The male version of this name is Otto, which is one of my grandad’s name. Also it comes up as  a Japanese name, japanese origin meaning “song”

So I am not really sure which one to choose….. but…

☼☼☼

Through Google, RoSy and another blog from Sharla I found more about  Ute which I found rather interesting:

Utah was Mexican territory when the first pionees arrived in 1847. It became the 45th state admitted to the union on January 4, 1896. The name Utah is derived from the name of the Ute Tribe. The University of Utah has adopted the Ute as its mascot. The word Ute means “Land of the sun” in their language. Ute possibly derived from the western Apache word “Yudah” meaning “high up”. This had led to the misconception that Ute means people high up or mountain people.

I do love the meaning “Land of the sun” and I shall stick to that one now. My mum told me that I was always a sunshine in her life and always a cheerful and happy child. There we have it… Proof!

charleston

So I shall keep the sunshine going,

keep dancing,

keep smiling,

and sending the sunshine from my heart out to everyone else!

charleston2

Have a beautiful, bright day from the Land of the Sun!

Related or not so related articles:

fun Ute cars here as Ute Art

68 responses »

  1. Hi Ute 😀 I have also found that in Norwegian, Ute is an adverb, meaning out or outside. You look really fantastic as The Dancing Queen. Ralph xox 😀

  2. You are truly a burst of sunshine Ute!
    Love the pictures that you share.
    The first one – shows your personality quite well.
    The second one – Ooh, la, la – Look at those legs! 😉
    {Hugs}

    • Haha, Charleston is cheeky… and I danced for my mum in the short one and she thought it was fabulous and not too short… as my dance teacher says use your long legs…. 🙂 Thanks RoSy for inspiring me to this post!

  3. See? You are a famous person and you didn’t even know it. You are also beautiful, and a huge ray of sunshine in my own personal life. I am the lucky one here to have met you here in blogger land

  4. You are truly a ray of sunshine Ute. Keep on dancing and smiling sweetness. Great photo’s and love those dresses! 😀 *big hugs*

Love to hear from you......

