Secret London

Standard

I went on a walking Tour through the City of London. The guide was very knowledgeable and told us a lot about history.

He also pointed out places where films like James Bond, Sherlock Holmes, 4 weddings and a funeral etc have been recorded.

It was a fabulous and very interesting walk. I have lived here for more than 25 years but everything I saw and heard was new to me even though I had explored London many times. There are hidden gems we don’t know.

Here are some impressions.

.

This house is not allowed to be changed (in height) as the tree behind it is famous through a poem from the English Poet William Wordsworth– with the title Poor Susan, apparently one of his worst poems. It isΒ  a lovely tree though!

Poor Susan Poem W. Wordsworth

Poor Susan Poem W. Wordsworth

Because the River Thames – the water supply –Β  was so dirty and the water could not be drunk, people went to drink Gin and other alcohol. Too many drunk people were hard to control so the city built “water stations” to get clean water.

water for the people and animals

water for the people and animals

Fresh spring water for  people and animals

Fresh spring water for people and animals

.

We went through the “Shopping Centre” of Middle Ages in the City, which has been destroyed in the great fire. All new buildings stand tall now but the street names remained.

You could buy Milk in Milk Street, Oats in Oat Lane, Wood in Wood Street, Bread in Bread Street, what could you buy in Love Lane, I wonder???

.

We walked through Postmans Park and saw a Memorial Wall for heroes who saved people but lost their own lives doing so. Here are some examples:

.

It was such an interesting walk I wanted to share my day with you and show you my beloved London!

If any of you, my friends, visit London/UK, let me know.

I love to show you round, there are lovely coffee shops too! πŸ™‚

Jumping around smiley photo 096A5D14.gif

Have an awesome day!

57 responses »

  1. Good morning Ute.))
    What was got rid you already missing because I so long here haven’t seen you at me were you about sick or warste on vacation?
    I much interessantesgepostet again it will see everything.Wish you a beautiful Saturday and Andrea sends vele hugs from me to you

    • Andrea, I love your Denglish πŸ™‚ Ich war bei meiner Schwester bei Muenchen und hatte eine Woche Urlaub dort. Ich werde nun noch fuer einige Tage zu meiner Mutter gehen, doch ich nehme mein laptop mit. Zwischendrin ist es auch mal gut eine Pause einzulegen. Ich hatte eine erholsame Zeit und viel Spass. Hoffe Du hast einen schoenen Sommer…..
      Many hugs to you β™₯

      • Den hatte ich……komme doch mal wieder vorbei nach deiner PAUSE….gelle vermiss dich schon…hab einen schΓΆnen SonnTAG….HERZlichst ANDREA:))
        Many hugs to you

    • Fantastic, you will love London, it is so versatile, old and new and so bustling with lots of different people. I wish you a great time in London, Enjoy it to the full! Thank you for visiting and commenting here. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much. No they are not working, no water came out, shame that would be handy in hot weather. Then again, nowadays they would charge to use it, wouldn’t you think so?

      • Most likely they would. You would need to swipe your card, as at an ATM machine, to obtain a glass of water for an exorbitant touristy price.

  2. It is so good to see you back in my reader. Missed you. I hope you had a great trip. These pictures are wonderful….I loved learning more about London.

    Big hugs, Ute!!

  3. Looks like you are having lots of fun Ute and love the photo’s hon! Now I am also wondering what they sold there at ‘love lane’ πŸ˜‰
    Thanks for a stunning tour and for sharing hon and enjoy! *big hugs*

  4. Thames, yes is so polluted. What a great way to spend the day. I wished I had more time to walk along when I was there. Knowing this, next time, I make sure I will find out what’s for sale in Love Lane. πŸ˜›

    • Haha, well Love Lane looked quite boring now, they relocated more to Soho I think…… Well London is a swell city and walking round is the best way to discover most of it. Thank you Seeker πŸ™‚

  5. Thank you for these wonderful pictures!
    The last time I was in London was with a college class–which was more years ago than I care to admit–but you captured the charm and beauty, and now I’m nudging my family and saying we just have to go back!

    • It is worth visiting London, it has so much to offer. Living here for years, I still explore and find new places, it never stops, and it is so enjoyable. Thank you for visiting and enjoying “my London” . Much appreciated!

  6. Thanks so much for this fabulous walk through history! I love the fact about water stations, in the olden times, sewage went straight into the rivers. I can see why people preferred the gin! Cheers Ute! πŸ™‚

  7. Ute, wonderful post! Lovely photos and great information… London has always been in my places-to-visit list…

Love to hear from you......

