Healthy juice – green

Standard

I have heard so much about the benefits of green juices and I wanted to try it out.I read about hem on th emindbodygreen website, on Renard‘s blog and Sufey‘s blog. It sounds so good.

I told a friend and she loaned me her juicer before I decide to buy one myself.

I had my first green juice yesterday!

green juice

Doesn’t it look delicious?…. and it tasted lovely.

I had cucumber, lemon , kale and apples in it.

I shall try some more out and then decide on buying a juicer, I am not quite convinced yet.

It is rather time consuming to clean it afterwards though.

What do you think?

Anyone has a juicer, is it worth it?

Please tell me of your experiences, I would appreciate it!

I just had another one with spinach, melon and celery to start the day, rather nice.Β  I think I could get used to it! πŸ™‚

41 responses »

  1. We got the craze to drink the natural juices and rushed out and bought a juicer…. it was a waste of time and when we calculated costs it just made the juices too expensive… it was far cheaper to buy a glass from those shops that do it rather than make our own… so if we were closer I’d give you ours that now stands in a box in a cupboard never having been used in at least 6 months…
    we just find it more fun going out for our favourite fruit/veg drink and so much cheaper than doing it ourselves.. that cleaning up is a pain..

    • I have heard that from someone else, and the lady who kindly loaned me the juicer also hasn’t used it for 5 years. Thank you for your honest answer. You see that is what I am afraid of, that iti is just a craze with me.
      Really appreciate your input!

  2. Yes, clean up is a hassle. I had a very basic one a while back. I spent at least a half an hour prepping and cleaning the thing. But I loved the juice. I bought a more advanced one not too long ago. I haven’t used it yet, since I don’t have a garbage disposal. I was thinking I would be able to give the fibers to the worms. But I’m not sure that would work. I think there would be more fiber waste than the poor worms could handle! So, I’m still thinking about it. But really, there is NOTHING like fresh juice.

    • The one I am using is 5 years old and the one I have my eye out on looks more compact and it is apparently easy to clean. Advanced technology πŸ™‚ Real fresh is the best you are right. Thank you for your opinion. Appreciate it!

      • My dear, if it is a kitchen gadget – chances are I have it and have an opinion about it πŸ˜†

        How are you? Sorry you got caught in a little bit of family drama there. That reply was meant for bunny/bean. I am not FB savvy yet so I may not have put it in the right place?

      • Don’t worry about the drama, I hope you are ok with it and accept it as you have no choice I guess.
        I know I can ask you anything regarding kitchen stuff, you do know so much and are brilliant with it. .,… and it all started with bacon hehe.
        Wish you a good day! Talk to you soon ,hopefully.

      • Absolutely! Now that the play is underway – life goes back to being a bit more normal. I get to go back to blogging! YEA! I have so many pictures to share and stories to tell. I’m going crazy. But, it is time for me to go to sleep, so I will say goodnight and I hope you have a GREAT DAY!

      • Another question: what is really the difference of a juicer to a blender? Could I do the green juices in a blender too? I wonder? as I cut my fruit and veg to only the pieces I would eat, so I have hardly any pulp.
        Please enlighten me!

      • The juicer is an extractor. It’s job is to get as much liquid out of the item as possible. A blender is like it sounds, more blending, than extracting. However, if you wanted to make green smoothies, that could work. You might end up with little pieces of fruit/veg and maybe not the same intense flavor, but you would still get the benefits. I have recipes for both and would love to share!

      • I understand, so for the green stuff I really do want a juicer as I would not like bits in it, and I do want a proper juice! Thanks

  3. A juicer is worth it. I understand that it is a little difficult to wash but if you connect a sprayer to the pipe and hold the juicer under it, the speed of the water itself will take crae of taking out most of the leftover stuff from it. πŸ™‚
    But, it is definitely worth it. πŸ™‚ Making our own juice is the best part of it. There are a wide variety of juice recipes available online and most of it are not available on the shops. And, it tends to be healthier when we make it because we will be careful not to include rotten or bad fruits/vegs, right?

    The juice look good. I’ll try this one out.

    • Thank you so much Manu for taking the time to let me know your opinion. I do think the juice is superb and it is not only for green juices I can do fruit juices as well. IT is the best juice out of it as you say , better than any bought one, you never know what they watered it down with….
      I shall ponder a bit more about it and try more juices ou twith hte loaned one. Again thank you so much for your input.

  4. Juicer juices are lovely but I HATE cleaning up the juicer which is why it sits all lonely and forlorn in the cupboard most of the time. There may be easy- clean juicers available now. We bought ours about 5 years ago.

    • Yes the one I am using is 5 years old. The ones nowadays are probably easier, the one I fancy looks more compact too. I need to think a bit more and it is great to have more input about this from other people before I make up my mind. Try this one at least for another week or so…
      Thank you very much for input, much appreciated.

  5. For the life of me I can’t drink juices like that and I have no idea why Ute. It always looks so delicious and inviting but I’ve tried once and just couldn’t swallow it. I think I’ll stick to eating the cucumbers and apples. LOL! Lovely shot! πŸ˜€ *hugs*

    • Funny , my boys said it looks like from aliens, of course they won’t drink it. At least the younger one tried but didn’t like it. I find it rather refreshing! As long as you eat your green stuff, it is ok and healthy too! Thanks for taking your time to let me know your thoughts. I do appreciate it . πŸ™‚

  6. It reminds me of an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation when James Doohan was in it as Scotty. Data (or someone – but I’ll say Data for the sake of this) gives Scotty a drink, and he asks what it is, and Data sniffs it and says “It’s .. it’s ..” sniffs again “it’s … and again “it’s green”

    Glad it tasted better than it looked (to me) πŸ˜€

  7. It does make for healthier eating. We have one. It makes all sorts of things – juice, soups, ice-cream. My husband went through a smoothie phase & made lots of soups at first. Then – he found the crockpot. Now he’s into sandwiches. I’m sure he’ll get back to the juicer phase sooner or later.
    πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Rosy I never thought it could do all the other things too, that is a bonus. I am certainly on green juice phase. Just had one with broccoli, apple and kiwi, oh deliciously refreshing it was.

    • I love salads too and love eating all different ones. And now in summer there is such a variety. However you get it in you it is very healthy. Thanks Terry!

    • Immy thank you so much, I just read it and I also got some lovely recipes with explanations how they help your body. I will buy a good new juicer as I really enjoy the juices. The health benefits outweigh every thing. Certainly a good investment!

  8. I love green juice, Ute, but it is hard to consistently juice and drink green juice. Especially in the winter. I have a number of friends who bought the really expensive juicers and don’t use them anymore. I bet you could get one cheap on ebay. {{{hugs]}} Kozo

    • I had the same thoughts, now in summer, no problem, I don’t need to get the most expensive one really. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your thoughts on this! {{hugs}}

  9. It is better to consume the juice as soon as it comes out from the juicer, especially apple because lots of chemicals get oxidized in a short while (within a few minutes!) :).

    • I have been doing it for 1 week and I love it, I ordered a juicer now to call my own. As a matter of fact I bought far too mauch veg and fruit for it, I htought it woudl use more. Let’s see if I stick to it… πŸ™‚

      • Enjoy! It is tasty. You also have to watch the calories. You can drink way more calories than you can eat. My mom’s roommate had one for a while, and put 10 pounds on in a very short time. I had some drinks, and they were delicious. I put 10 pounds on easily enough anyway. I love to eat! πŸ™‚

Love to hear from you......

