There is a time

Standard

There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

    a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
    a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
    a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
    a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
    a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
    a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
    a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

Ecclesiastes 3,1-8

It is sad but also in a way joyful that the Lord has taken my dad home! He is with HIM and can be whole again. I am grateful for God’s timing as my dad wanted to go.

It has been a hard time and I can say that it did/does make me stronger. You can love someone but you also need to let go.

Death is no more than passing from one room into another. But there’s a difference for me, you know. Because in that other room I shall be able to see.  – Helen Keller …..so it will be for my dad.

Our dead are never dead to us, until we have forgotten them. – George Elliot

give love 4
I know this is not my usual positive smiley post but happy positive people also feel sadness and grief.
I will be a bit quiet for a little while but I will be back to bloggingworld as you, my bloggerfriends  encourage me, make me strong , share love and understanding and give me so much happiness.
Thank you all!
57 responses »

  1. My sincere and deepest condolences I would like to pass on to you dear Ute. I will be thinking about you and your family during this time of grief. I will be with you in thought. All my love and a really big cuddle. Ralph xox

  2. Your blogging friends will miss you for a while and are sorry for your loss. We understand why you must have time for yourself and your family. We will be here when you return.

  3. Love to you, Ute. I’m so glad to be connected on email. I think about you several times a day, and hope and pray for your healing heart. I hope God births new compassion and freedom into your life, and that you continue to find the treasure that resides in the sorrow. Hugs to you…stay connected as you can.

    • Thanks so much Lori, knowing you went through the same, and talking to you does help. So glad to know you and wishing you much strength too! I thank the Lord for giving my dad peace. My love for him will never die even if he is not here anymore. Big hug! Ute x

  4. Your post was an encouragement to me today – it has been 38 yrs since dad died and 30 since mom died and although I still miss them, I know one day I will see them again in their glorious new bodies. My heart and prayers are with you – may your memories and love for you dad comfort and strengthen you like my memories have done for me over the years. Hugs…Patty

    • Our love will never die even when our loved ones are not with us anymore. I believe the same that one day we will be all together again. Thank you for your comforting words Patty, *hug*

  5. I sit here with tears streaming for some reason. Your beautiful poem touched me, and I think about how much you love people. I know this is a difficult time for you, and I am so sorry for your loss. Yes, even positive people are sad. Lots of love and hugs to you. Marsha xxxx

    • Thank you so much Marsha, it is hard but my love never ends. This is a wonderful poem and very helpful while grieving, thought you might like that.

      “Death is nothing at all,
      I have only slipped into the next room
      I am I and you are you
      Whatever we were to each other, that we are still.
      Call me by my old familiar name,
      Speak to me in the easy way which you always used
      Put no difference in your tone,
      Wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow
      Laugh as we always laughed at the little jokes we enjoyed together.
      Play, smile, think of me, pray for me.
      Let my name be ever the household world that it always was,
      Let it be spoken without effect, without the trace of shadow on it.
      Life means all that it ever meant.
      It it the same as it ever was, there is unbroken continuity.
      Why should I be out of mind because I am out of sight?
      I am waiting for you, for an interval, somewhere very near,
      Just around the corner.
      All is well. ”

      ― Henry Scott Holland

      • That is beautiful. You are such a dear. It is always hard to lose loved ones, but losing our parents reminds us of our own mortality. Your pure, brave heart will carry you through this troubled time along with your faith and your friends. Go bless and know that I will be praying for your continued comfort. Marsha 🙂

  6. Awe. I am so sorry for your loss of your Dad. How so sad. I know so well as I lost my daddy years ago. Big hugs to you and I will keep you and your family in my prayers. I loved your post, very heart felt. 🙂

  7. You touch many lives through your blog, it is only right that you are supported by your online community at a time like this. So feel the love as I can see 50 comments above mine that show how important you are to people. Let yourself express the grief you need to in what ever creative ways you can find and may this time bring you closer to your family. I offer you peace from God as only he can provide. May angel wings support you now and always.

    • Thank you so much for your lovely words, I am honoured and so grateful to have such wonderful friends in life and in thei son line world. They are all and every single one very precious to me. I do feel the love and that is so important to me as you know from my blog.
      Thank you so so much , big hug from Ute

      • You are very kind. Such a precious spirit, offering light to many. If we can shine some light to you then we have only reflected back to you what you have done for us. Sometimes friendships on the internet are more blessed than in the so called real world. God bless you ute

  8. My parents have lived with me last 10 years. Mother’s illness was discovered in August and she then lasted 5 weeks, passed Sept 17. I was her home hospice nurse and slept next to her each night. An hour after she she died, a tear formed and fell from her left eye. This and other occurrences during those days , well if I did not think there is a link to the other side, I believe it now.

    • Thank you for your comment Carl, amazing happenings. I did see my dad and he looked so peaceful lying there…..and his skin was so soft…..nice things to remember in all the sadness. Thank you!

  9. Pingback: There is a time for everything! | Nizy's Life Compendium

  10. Pingback: A TIME TO CRUSE THE LOWER APPALACHIAN MOUNTAINS | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

Love to hear from you......

