My Favourite English Words

Standard

English is not my native language but I have almost mastered it, still the odd mistakes creeping in. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love the English language it sounds warm and soft to me, unlike the hard sounding German language , my mother tongue.

There are some words in the English language which I cannot properly translate and they are such beautiful words:

 

Cherish– a wonderful word with a wonderful meaning –

1. To treat with affection and tenderness; hold dear: cherish one’s family;

2. To keep fondly in mind; cherish a memory.

 

Appreciate – another great word and I love the meaning –

1. To recognize the quality, significance, or magnitude of: appreciated their freedom.

2. To be fully aware of or sensitive to; realize: I appreciate your problems.

3. To be thankful or show gratitude for: I really appreciate your help.

4. To admire greatly; value.

5. To raise in value or price, especially over time.

 

Then there are the funny sounding words like fuzzy or furry.

They sound exactly what they mean like an onomatapoeia.

 

I put this on my bedroom door haha

Related Articles:

Appreciate to be happy

20 responses »

  1. My brother has always been amazed by the German language. He LOVES watching my old videos of my former German student. Especially one of her counting to ten. He says he wants a German girlfriend just so he can listen to her speak all day and night. I’m not sure if you’ve seen the full video of, “Dirty Dancing” by New Kids On The Block – there’s a whole chunk of German bits in there he LOVES watching too.

  2. Ute, I have German heritage myself. My grandparents immigrated to the U.S. from Germany. I agree that the English language is beautiful, but I also think it can be very confusing, even for me and I was born here. Kudos to you for taking the time and dedicating yourself to learning English as a second language. You’re doing so well! โค Happy Sunday! Peace.

    • Thank you Sandra, I love being here in England and enjoy my life here! And there are still ots of words I do not know, so I keep on learning more.:-) Have a lovely day too!

  3. I love languages and was recently talking with a Jewish man about the Hebrew and English. He loves the English language, because he thinks it is so rich. I think Hebrew is rich, but I can understand why he would consider English to be so. After all, English is made up from languages all around the world. What beautiful images to go with the words you’ve chosen to highlight!

    • Thank you for your comment, I can express myself better in English than in German for some reason, English is my chosen language and London my chosen hometown. I love it here. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: So Who Do YOU Think Should Run The Country? « Stork Hunting

Love to hear from you......

