Home from Home

Standard

I have been away in Germany for a few days ; in the village where I grew up. I stayed in my parent’s house. This was the view from my window on this cold morning.

The village has changed since I have been a child; it has become more beautiful, old houses were restored, the river bedย  has been changed twice, the little bridge over it too.

Most of the shops have changed since I went shopping there 35 years ago. The baker is the only one left who is the same and has the same delicious cakes and bread including the best hot chocolate with cream in the coffe shop.

 

 

Kaese Sahne Torte is my favourite.

I’d like to show you where I grew up so let me take you through my village:

This is the school I went from the age of 6, and I do remember being told off for not cutting straight.

Further along is the beautiful river Echaz. sometimes there is a heron standing proudly in the middle of it. I love watching the river from this spot, it is so relaxing and very peaceful.

Our cute little Rathaus/townhall.

And one of the oldest houses in the village . As far as i know it used to be the mayor’s house.ย  Once it was my homework to draw this house.

Ending our walk at the 500 year old church called Mauritius Kirche.

I hope you liked the little tour through my village called Betzingenย  (A marks the spot) .

21 responses »

  1. Beautiful sweet little world ๐Ÿ™‚ I suppose something are good if they don’t change but we humans keep putting them here and there over the years ๐Ÿ™‚

    Stunning to see the different but my kind of world.

  2. Hallo Ute!

    Ich bin ab Montag in Villingen-Schwenningen, not really around the corner, but not too far ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing the pics. (girls road trip with a french friend… visiting her great aunt). Personally I am from Bad Homburg v.d.H., eine Hessin ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I can’t wait to eat all the German food ๐Ÿ™‚ LOVE IT !

    Alles Liebe u Gute Nacht,
    Caro xx

  3. Great pictures. Thanks for the tour! And my, that torte sure looks divine! (My way of asking without asking if I could have some? Haha)

Love to hear from you......

