Books to sit on!

Standard

London has got a lovely idea about books. We discovered some book – benches at our day out yesterday!

There are 50 benches looking like open books all around London in 4 different trails. We found 3 benches. They look amazing.

day out greenwich (19)

 

All benches will be there for the Summer until 15th September.

The 50 BookBench sculptures will be sold at public auction on 7 October 2014 at an exclusive event at the Southbank Centre.
All proceeds will go to the National Literacy Trust, a charity dedicated to raising the literacy levels of disadvantaged children and young people across the UK.
day out greenwich (18)day out greenwich (20)day out greenwich (21)
Here the other benches which were following books:
The Railway Children
The Canterbury Tales
Girl Engrossed
See what other wonderful books are benches on this link!
 I found it rather amazing and I will need to find more book benches, next time I am in town!
Enjoy your books and the sunshine!

 

52 responses »

  1. Wow that is fantastic. I like the idea of that. Some cracking books there, although I am surprised not to see Pride & Prejudice in there or Jane Eyre, Sense and Sensibility.

  2. Truly amazing Ute! They are gorgeous and you’ve captured them so well! I wish I could have them all in my garden. Just think how literate the vervets could become! :lol:

    • You know it would be great to have them in the garden… I wonder how much they go for in the auction in September… but I think they are beyond my budget. The monkeys would love it!

      • I don’t even want to think of how much it would cost Ute. Certainly something I won’t be able to afford either. LOL! Guess maybe it’s better that way, otherwise my garden would look like a fully stocked christmas pantry! hahahahah

        Oh yes, they would! :D

  3. Pingback: Everything Is Awesome | A Mixed Bag

  4. That’s lovely, I’ve never come across such benches. Where did you find them? I followed the link and found loads of book benches. They’re awesome Ute! Thanks for sharing. :)

  5. Wow! This is amazing! I admire whoever thought of making these! And thanks to you for sharing! I’d love to have few in my garden too! What would be your books of choice?

    • A great idea that someone had. Well my choice .. that is hard, I love many books….the Jungle book is beautifully colourful… actually children’s books are great for the bench purpose as they are more colourful. I do love to read Ken Follett and other historic novels.

  6. Pingback: More book benches in London | Ute smile

Love to hear from you......

